Introduction to the TC

The Technical Committee is a subsidiary body to the Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds, which was established in accordance with Article VII of the Agreement.

The Technical Committee has the following general functions:
  • Provides scientific and technical advice and information to the Meeting of the Parties and, through the Agreement Secretariat, to Parties;
  • Makes recommendations to the Meeting of the Parties concerning the Action Plan, implementation of the Agreement and further research to be carried out;
  • Prepares for each ordinary session of the Meeting of the Parties a report on its activities, which shall be submitted to the Agreement Secretariat not less than one hundred and twenty days before the session of the Meeting of the Parties, and copies shall be circulated forthwith by the Agreement Secretariat to the Parties; and
  • Carries out any other tasks referred to it by the Meeting of the Parties. The Technical Committee works closely with the Standing Committee to ensure consistency across the Agreement’s work. The Technical Committee operations are governed by Modus operandi adopted by the Meeting of the Parties.
The Technical Committee membership comprises:
(a) nine experts representing the different regions of the Agreement Area (Northern & Southwestern Europe, Central Europe, Eastern Europe, Southwestern Asia, Northern Africa, Central Africa, Western Africa, Eastern Africa and Southern Africa) elected among all the Parties on the recommendation of the Parties of the region in question;
(b) one representative appointed by each of the following organisations: the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Wetlands International, the International Council for Game and Wildlife Conservation (CIC); and
(c) one thematic expert from each of the following fields: rural economics, game management, and environmental law; elected by the Parties.
Observers of non-contracting Parties and the Chairperson of the AEWA Standing Committee may be invited to the meetings of the Technical Committee. A maximum of four observers from specialised international inter-governmental and non-governmental organisations can be admitted too and in addition guests may be invited to contribute to specific topics.
The current composition of the Technical Committee is presented below:
North and Southwestern Europe – Mr. David Stroud (United Kingdom), Chair
Northern Africa – Mr. Hichem Azafzaf (Tunisia), Vice-Chair
Central Europe – Mr. Lorenzo Serra (Italy)
Eastern Europe – Mr. Saulius Svazas (Lithuania)
Southwestern Asia – Mr. Sharif Jbour (Jordan)
Western Africa – Mr. Erasmus Owusu (Ghana)
Eastern Africa – Mr. Muchai Muchane (Kenya)
Southern Africa – Ms. Lizanne Roxburgh (South Africa)
Central Africa – vacant
IUCN - Mr. Jean-Christophe Vié
Wetlands International – Mr. Szabolcs Nagy
CIC – Mr. Arto Marjakangas
Rural Economics – Mr. Hussein Sosovele (Tanzania)
Environmental Law – Ms. Melissa Lewis (South Africa)
Game Management – Mr. Jean-Yves Mondain-Monval (France)
BirdLife International – Ms. Nicola Crockford
FACE – Mr. Cy Griffin
OMPO – Mr. Patrick Triplet
WWT – Mr. Baz Hughes
Mr. John Harradine – invited expert on hunting issues
vacant – invited expert on Communication, Education and Public Awareness (CEPA) issues
WCMC – Ms. Kelly Malsch